Schlagwort-Archive: Lux Audience Award

THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE wins LUX European Audience Film Award 2024

The European public and the members of the European Parliament have voted THE TEACHERS’ LOUNGE by German director İlker Çatak the winner of the LUX European Audience Film Award. In a ceremony in the European Parliament’s hemicycle in Brussels the Award was given to Johannes Duncker who together with İlker Çatak wrote the screenplay. The film, produced by German production house if…productions tells a story about Carla, a young high school teacher, distinguished from her colleagues by her idealism. When a series of unsolved thefts sour the atmosphere among the teaching staff, Carla decides to investigate. With the help of a hidden camera and to everyone’s surprise, she exposes the thief but her revelation unleashes forces that slide steadily out of control and presents Carla with an unsolvable dilemma.

European Parliament Vice-President Evelyn Regner (S&D, AT) said: “Culture and cinema in particular play a pivotal role in solidifying our sense of a shared European identity. The values at the heart of our European democracy are the same as the ones depicted in today’s films. Today, we remember together how precious and fragile democracy is, especially now that the European Elections are only a few weeks away.”

Mike Downey, Honorary president of the LUX Selection Committee and Chair of the European Film Academy, commented: “All of the nominees were winners in our view, and all of the films draw attention to the fact that cinema not only enhances the imagination but also shows our entire world in multiple perspectives, and has the power to broaden our vision and thinking. We just have to look at the five candidates for this year’s award – great works of art which are diverse, entertaining, and socially engaged in the world in which we live.”

Co-writer and director of the winning film İlker Çatak, co-writer Johannes Duncker and producer Ingo Fliess said in a statement: “Our heartfelt gratitude to our audience and the esteemed members of the European Parliament. We are deeply honoured by the widespread reception of our film among viewers in Europe and beyond. This recognition underscores the vital role of teachers as the unsung heroes of our society. With utmost respect, we dedicate this award to them.”

The other four films shortlisted for the award were: 20,000 SPECIES OF BEES by Spanish director Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren, FALLEN LEAVES by Finnish director Aki Kaurismäki, Berlinale winner ON THE ADAMANT by French director Nicolas Philibert, the winner of European Documentary at the European Film Awards 2023 SMOKE SAUNA SISTERHOOD by Estonian director Anna Hints. 

The winning film was chosen by combining a public vote and a vote by MEPs, with each weighted at 50%. 

Further information:

LUX Audience Award

EP Multimedia Centre: free photos, video and audio material (LUX Award 2024)

Close“ Wins LUX European Audience Film Award 2023

The European public and the members of the European Parliament have voted “Close” by Belgian director Lukas Dhont the winner of the LUX European Audience Film Award in a ceremony in the European Parliament’s hemicycle in Brussels. The film, co-produced by Belgium, France and Netherlands, tells the story of an intense friendship between two thirteen-year old boys Leo and Remi. When their friendship is suddenly disrupted, Leo approaches Sophie, Remi’s mother, struggling to understand what has happened. “Close” is a film about friendship and responsibility.
Lukas Dhont, accepting the award together with his co-author Angelo Tijssens, stated: “We stand by you as you. Discover who you are as you are. We think of you, we are hopeful and proud of you.”
The other four films shortlisted for the award were: “Alcarràs” by Spanish director Carla Simón, “Burning Days” by Turkish director Emin Alper, “Will-o‘-the-Wisp” by Portugese director João Pedro Rodrigues and “Triangle of Sadness” by Swedish director Ruben Östlund. The nominated films were presented in over 500 screenings in various European Union countries subtitled in the 24 official languages of the EU. Now the votes have been counted.
In a ceremony in front of a fully occupied plenary session of the European Parliament in Brussels (Belgium), Roberta Metsola, President of the European Parliament, presented the award in front of the MEPs, invited partners and, representing the nominated films, the directors Carla Simón (ALCARRÀS), Emin Alper (BURNING DAYS), João Pedro Rodrigues (WILL-O’-THE-WISP) and Sunnyi Melles (TRIANGLE OF SADNESS).
The winning film was chosen by combining a public vote and a vote by MEPs, with each weighed at 50%. The awards platform received around 45,000 ratings (reviews on a scale going from one to five stars) from European viewers and 360 from MEPs.
The LUX Audience Award uniquely unites the votes of the European public and those of the Members of the European Parliament. It is presented by the European Film Academy and the European Parliament, and in partnership with the European Commission and Europa Cinemas.